Click to enlarge

The 2019 Nobel Prize in Physics was awarded to John B. Goodenough, M. Stanley Whittingham and Akira Yoshino for their contributions to the development of the lithium-ion battery.

To read about the science behind the prize in more detail, check out the Nobel Prize press release here, the popular summary, or the more detailed scientific background here.

There are also several other graphics relating to lithium-ion graphics on the site here. Check out this one on why some lithium-ion batteries exploded a few years back, and this one on the work being done to improve them further.

The graphic in this article is licensed under a  Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. See the site’s content usage guidelines.

Enjoyed this post? Support Compound Interest’s graphics on Patreon!

%d bloggers like this: